Penalties for Multiple DUIs in Colorado

December 24, 2013

The penalties for multiple DUIs in Colorado are particularly harsh and involve jail time, a driver’s license suspension and additional punishments.

The penalties for multiple DUIs in Colorado are particularly harsh and involve jail time, a driver’s license suspension and additional punishments.

When individuals who have been convicted of drunk driving are arrested and charged for a subsequent DUI, the charges are far more serious, as the potential penalties will be far more severe if a conviction is ultimately handed down in the case. In fact, according to Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS 42-4-1301), people with even one prior DUI who are convicted of another alcohol-related traffic offense will have to serve at least 5 to 10 days in jail even if their prior DUI was in another state and even if it occurred as much as 20 years prior. If an individual has two prior DUIs and is convicted of a third offense, the mandatory minimum shoots up to 60 days in jail (with the maximum jail time being up to 1 year).

In addition to jail time, the following additional penalties, as outlined below, can also be levied for multiple DUIs in Colorado:

  • Second DUI conviction – If the second DUI conviction occurs within 5 years of the first DUI, then the individual will likely have his driver’s license suspended for one year. Additionally, he will likely have to have an ignition interlock device installed in his vehicle for at least one year, will have to attend alcohol education classes for at least six months and will have to pay various court fines.
  • Third DUI conviction – The additional penalties for a third DUI conviction are similar to those for a second DUI conviction except for the facts that the driver’s license suspensions are longer (usually 2 to 5 years), the length of ignition interlock device installation is longer (usually 2 years) and the length of alcohol education classes is longer (between 9 and 18 months).

These penalties can be even harsher if:

  • The individual refused to submit to a chemical test.
  • The individual is also convicted of a hit-and-run.
  • The DUI involved an accident that resulted in injury (or, worse yet, death).

Denver and Boulder Metro Area DUI Defense Lawyer at the Griffin Law Firm

Facing any type of criminal charges can be both scary and stressful, as a conviction could cost you your reputation, your career, your family and even your freedom. If you or your loved one has been arrested for and/or formally charged with any crime, Christopher Griffin wants you to know that he is ready to immediately start providing you with the strongest possible defense against police and prosecutors – both outside and inside of the courtroom.

Regardless of whether you are facing criminal charges for the first time, have prior convictions and/or were on probation or parole at the time of the alleged crime, Christopher Griffin and all of the legal professionals at the Griffin Law Firm will work relentlessly to help you obtain the best possible outcome to your case. In fact, our steadfast dedication to the notion that the accused are innocent until proven guilty means that we will do everything in our power to help you resolve your case in the most favorable and efficient manner possible.

To receive a complete evaluation of your case, along with professional advice regarding your best options, contact us by calling 303-280-1070 or by emailing us using the form at the top of this page.

Categories: Blogs, DUI, DUI Defense, DUI Penalties, Front Range Criminal Defense Lawyer, Multiple DUIs