5 Important Things to Know About Colorado Marijuana Laws (Part 1)

January 17, 2014

 

As of January 1, 2014, Colorado marijuana laws have changed the landscape of what is considered to be criminal when it comes to the possession and purchase of pot in the state.

As of January 1, 2014, Colorado marijuana laws have changed the landscape of what is considered to be criminal when it comes to the possession and purchase of pot in the state.

With the Colorado marijuana laws going into effect on January 1, 2014, here’s some essential information that all residents should know about the new recreational marijuana rules for the state. Being aware of what has changed when it comes to the legal versus criminal possession, sale and use of marijuana in the state can help you avoid potential criminal drug charges and penalties.

Fact 1: How Pot Came to Be Legal in Colorado

Colorado residents who are older than 21 years old can now officially purchase up to $200 of marijuana from a legal dispensary because 55 percent of voters in the state passed an amendment to the Colorado constitution in November 2012.  The only other state in the U.S. to have such recreational marijuana laws is Washington State; however, pot dispensaries will not open up and start selling marijuana there until later in 2014.

Additionally, Colorado marijuana laws stipulate that:

  • People who are not residents of Colorado can legally buy up to one-quarter of an ounce of marijuana for recreational use (but they cannot transport it outside of the state’s boundaries).
  • Individuals who have purchased recreational marijuana may share up to one ounce of pot with someone else as long as not money is exchanged.

Fact 2: You CAN Grow If You Follow the Rules…

In addition to being able to buy recreational pot, Colorado residents are legally permitted to grow weed as long as they grow no more than 6 plants in their home and they keep the plants enclosed in an area that can be locked.

Check out our upcoming Part 2 of this blog for 3 more important facts about recreational marijuana laws in Colorado.

Denver and Boulder Metro Area Criminal Defense Lawyer at the Griffin Law Firm

Facing any type of criminal charges can be both scary and stressful, as a conviction could cost you your reputation, your career, your family and even your freedom. If you or your loved one has been arrested for and/or formally charged with any crime, Christopher Griffin wants you to know that he is ready to immediately start providing you with the strongest possible defense against police and prosecutors – both outside and inside of the courtroom.

Regardless of whether you are facing criminal charges for the first time, have prior convictions and/or were on probation or parole at the time of the alleged crime, Christopher Griffin and all of the legal professionals at the Griffin Law Firm will work relentlessly to help you obtain the best possible outcome to your case. In fact, our steadfast dedication to the notion that the accused are innocent until proven guilty means that we will do everything in our power to help you resolve your case in the most favorable and efficient manner possible.

To receive a complete evaluation of your case, along with professional advice regarding your best options, contact us by calling 303-280-1070 or by emailing us using the form at the top of this page.

Categories: Blogs, Colorado Marijuana Laws, Drugs, Front Range Criminal Defense Lawyer, Marijuana